Football news Sports News

FIFA The Best 2020 belongs to Lewandowski

The FIFA The Best 2020 award went to Robert Lewandowski after the ceremony was held at dawn on December 18.

Robert Lewandowski beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to win the FIFA Player of the Year award – The Best 2020.

Lewandowski had a stellar season, winning a historic treble with Bayern Munich including Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup champions. Now, he is rewarded with the highest FIFA award.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino personally presented the recognized award from July 2019 to October 2020 to the Polish striker on Thursday night.

After being announced as the best male player, Lewandowski shared his feelings: “If you win such an award and share that title with Messi and Ronaldo, it’s unbelievable and it means. that means a lot to me.”

FIFA President Gianni Infantino presents the award to Lewandowski. “A long time ago, I remember I yearn for something like this and now I can win such an award. This really means that no matter where you come from, all that matters is what you put into it”.

Lewandowski scored 55 goals in just 47 games last season, including 15 goals in 10 games as Bayern won the Champions League.

It’s no surprise that the 32-year-old won the title of top scorer in the Bundesliga, German Cup and Champions League last season.

Lewandowski’s win means all five FIFA The Best winners since their start in 2016 are in their 30s.

List of awards:

FIFA Male Player: Robert Lewandowski

FIFA Women’s Player of the Year: Lucy Bronze

FIFA Men’s Best Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer

FIFA Women’s Best Goalkeeper: Sarah Bouhaddi

FIFA men’s best coach: Jurgen Klopp

FIFA’s best female coach: Sarina Wiegman

Puskas Award: Son Heung-min

Best men’s squad: Alisson; Alexander-Arnold, Van Dijk, Ramos, Davies; Kimmich, De Bruyne, Thiago; Messi, Lewandowski, Ronaldo